top of page

Capital Area Water Ski Club announces scholarships

January 31, 2019

Two $300 scholarships will be awarded to junior skiers who are active, paid members of the Capital Area Water Ski Club.  Completed applications are due by March 15, 2019.  Click HERE for details.  


2017 Scholarship Winners Announced

March 4, 2017

The South Central Region Junior Development Committee has awarded seven scholarships this year to support its juniors in their pursuit of water skiing goals.  The application was open to junior skiers of all ages and abilities in the South Central Region and consisted of an online application and essay submission.  

Congratulations to the following skiers who are recipients for 2017!

(2) $250 scholarships for entry level skiers.  This is awarded to those who are beginning their first or second tournament season.  Funds are to be used on tournament entry fees, ski school or clinic, or ski equipment.   
Lyric Pavur

Payton Deming

(4) $500 scholarships for tournament level skiers.  This is awarded to a skier  who has previously skied in at least one tournament season.  Funds are to be used on ski school, private coaching or clinics.
Brooke Boskus
Cade Stockstill
Duncan Fry
Mitchell Spence

(1) $500 scholarship for an elite level skier.  This is awarded to a skier who plans to ski in an international or elite event.  Funds are to be used for travel or entry fees to such events. 
Bailey Grathwohl

Junior Banquet at Nationals

August 6, 2016


The junior banquet will be held under the tent on site at Broadside Harbor beginning at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 12, with a country theme and barbecue dinner. Junior awards will begin at 6:30 p.m., followed by live music, games, mechanical bull, dancing and an auction. Sunset will be around 8:50 p.m., followed by the professional men’s $20,000 cash-prize night jump at 9:30 p.m. 

The night jump will be run tournament bracket style, with the following athletes set to compete: Freddy Krueger, Scot Ellis, Zack Worden, Taylor Garcia, Corbin Guyer, Mark Lane, Nick Lang and Sam Greenwood.  Entry to the banquet will be paid for all SCR juniors by the SCR Junior Development Committee.  Additional child tickets are $10 and adults are $15.  

Junior Coaching Scholarships Awarded

June 20, 2016

Congratulations to Emma Morgan and Taylor Grathwohl who were awarded scholarships and prizes as part of the Kay Nichols Junior Coaching Award.  Emma and Taylor were chosen from a group of 12 participants who coached other juniors at the Kay Nichols "You Can Do It" clinic earlier this month.  Thank you, Emma and Taylor for sharing your knowledge and enthusiasm with others.  Congratulations!

Opportunities for Juniors

June 3, 2016

There are many opportunities for juniors in the South Central Region.  From clinics to ski leagues to tournaments, kids of all ages and abilities can find something that is just right for them.  Please find some of the many opportunities here.  Check back often as the list will be updated as new events become available. 

Regional Awards

May 27, 2016


Each year, junior skiers are celebrated for their accomplishments at the Juniors Banquet held during the Regional tournament weekend.  This year, the awards ceremony will take place at Tri-Lakes in Zachary, Louisiana, host of the Regional tournament on Friday, July 29.  To find out about what awards will be given, please click here.  

New Slalom Rule for 2016

This new rule applies to Junior skiers who ski in a class C event.  Junior Skiers and their Parent / Guardian SHOULD read Rule 10.06 found on the 2016 AWSA Rule Book pages 45-48 in its entirety before their first tournament of the season. To read more, click here.

JD Scholarship Winners Announced

January 31, 2016 | Jennifer Parker, Junior Development Committee Chair


The Junior Development committee is happy to report that it received a large number of applications this year for its annual scholarship program.  Thank you to all who support the efforts of this committee by buying raffle tickets and participating in other fundraising efforts.

Congratulations to the following  2016 scholarship recipients!

Claire Covington
Sam Durham
Taylor Grathwohl
Graham Hale
Julianna Myrick
Alec Shuler
Cade Stockstill
Charley White
Jack White
Bryon Withrow

Thank you to everyone who took the time to submit an application. The submissions were fantastic and such a joy to read. We have an amazing group of young skiers in our region!

bottom of page